Home > university > S288 – Practical Science

S288 – Practical Science

Well, before I begin I would like to let you know that The Open University’s 2plus2 has officially been renamed OpenPlus (as I was told it would happen a few weeks back). From now on in this blog, I will call it OpenPlus.

Other than that, I have received word that the new S288 module from the Open University has a one week residential component in the Observatorio AstronĂ³mico de Mallorca (OAM)! It is exactly the same as the discontinued module SXR208 (at least this is what I was told). From what I read too, regular S288 is different from OpenPlus S288;

“Practical Science (The 2plus2 strand of S288, which includes residential components)”.

This will be my last module with The Open University, and I must say it is a fantastic way to end off my studies there!

  1. July 24, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    Hi,
    Just to let you know that the astronomy residential is a 3 day optional residential, not a week.
    Cheers

    • July 25, 2011 at 10:01 am

      I see. Pitty it is not a week, as Mallorca must be a fantastic place to see (although I heard you do most of your sleeping during the day on these residentual trips).

      Not that I disagree with you, but may I ask where you got this information? As it was the OU themselves that told me it will be a week, although I agree that it is possible they were confused with another module.

      ***Edit: Nevermind, I found the source. It appears that S288 is actually named SXP288. And it says that the residentual in Mallorca is indeed three days. For anyone else interested I will make a small blog post about it shortly. Thanks for the update David!***

  2. July 26, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    You’re welcome… more than happy to talk about my experiences on SXR208, I had an amazing week. Yes, you do sleep during the day once you get in from the observatory, but you are normally well awake before midday!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

