Home > maths > Countdown to Mathematics

Countdown to Mathematics

Just a small find that I thought I would share.

On the MST121 homepage (http://www3.open.ac.uk/study/undergraduate/course/mst121.htm?countryCode=EUR) at the bottom of the “Preparatory work” section there is a recommendation to go through two books before getting your revision material from the OU.

Looking at the first volume’s table of contents it appears that it covers the exact same topics covered in the free Maths Skills booklet provided by The Open University. However it is the second volume that takes you a little further (covering algebra, trigonometry, etc.). Although, as I remember it, it still does not cover everything learnt in secondary school. And at the price of around £30.00 each it seems a little difficult to justify purchasing it (although it also has good reviews on Amazon).

So bottom line, if anyone can convince me to buy it (at the very least the second volume) I will do so.

  1. Simon
    August 6, 2011 at 12:51 am

    Hey Greg ,

    How are you getting on with the maths (preparation) ? I typed “openplus physics” into google and found myself on your blog….. hehe. I’m currently registered on MST121/ MS 221 and can’t wait to start (roll on October hehe).

    Lancaster seems to be quite popular with the openplus physics route. You have to be the fifth person i’ve come across that has it as their partner uni.
    I wonder what is wrong with the other 7 partners or so..hehe .

  2. August 6, 2011 at 9:33 am

    On the website forum thestudentroom.co.uk there are a few students mentioning that they have chosen Sheffield University and that Sheffield has actually filled up all their available OpenPlus seats.

    I think the reason Lancaster is so popular is becuase their physics department has a very good reputation for research.

    So it seems that OpenPlus as a whole is a popular option. Which is great 🙂

    I am glad to meet another person studying what I am studying. Also impatiently awaiting October to come (or even sooner, I just want that prepatory material).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

